Table 1 – WNISR Rationale for the Classification of 53 Reactors as Non-Operational as of end 2012

	Officially Closed at Later Date 21 Reactors		Still in LTO 23 Reactors	Restarted from LTO 9 Reactors
Typology	Reactors that last produced electricity in (or prior to) 2012, officially closed after 2012 (either considered closed by WNISR as early as 2012, or after an LTO period). Most of those reactors were considered "in operation" for many years before their official closure date.Reactors considered closed in 2012Reactors in LTO prior to closure		Reactors not restarted since 2012, officially "in operation" as of 31 December 2021.	Reactors in LTO as of December 2012 Restarted prior to 31 December 2021
Japan	6 Reactors Fukushima Daiichi 5-6 Fukushima Daini 1-4 Officially Closed in 2013 and 2019	11 Reactors Last production in 2010–2012 Officially closed 2015–2019	23 Reactors Last production 2006–2012	8 Reactors Restarted 2015-2021
South Korea				1 Reactor Wolsong-1 Restarted in 2015
Spain	1 Reactor Santa Maria de Garoña Last production in 2012 Officially Closed in 2017*			
U.S.	3 Reactors San Onofre-2 & -3 Last production in 2012 Officially closed in 2013 Crystal River-3 Last production in 2009 Officially closed in 2013			

Sources: IAEA-PRIS and WNISR, 2022

Note: *Garoña was subsequently considered in Long-term Shutdown (LTS) 2013–2016 by the IAEA until its official closure.